Culture Shock

Hi! My name is Raelle Smiley and I am a junior at Trinity University.  I was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania but have lived in Austin, Texas for most of my life. I graduated from Westlake High School in 2008 and was on the swim team at Trinity for my freshman and part of my sophomore years. I have been swimming since I was 4 years old and I think the hard work and dedication I practiced in the sport has helped shape me into the person I am today.

This summer I worked as a swim instructor at a school called Waterloo Swim School in Austin.  This was the first summer that the school was open and I had a great time meeting all of the new students and helping to shape the school.  I taught students of all ages and teaching them how to swim has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have had.  When I wasn’t teaching lessons this summer I also worked as an intern at an Austin based public strategies firm called ROSSCommunications.  This was my first “real” job, I really learned a lot about what it is like to work in an office and how to make it in the business world.

I am looking forward to being in the Games for the Web class.  As I am not an avid gamer myself I am slightly concerned about the culture shock I may experience once we enter the world of MMO’s but I can’t wait to give it a try.  I was really interested when Dr. Delwiche explained to me that we are going to be looking into the cross-cultural communication that occurs within the gaming world.  I can’t wait to get to know everyone in the class and to learn more about what we are going to be doing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

